"I forgot to say one thing. Hitokiri Battousai’s style of fighting is not that of the Kamiya Kasshin School. It’s an old style of kenjutsu which arose in the Sengoku era, designed to face several opponents at once. Its name is Hiten Mitsurugi. And without the reverse blade, it is slaughter with deadly swiftness."

- Himura Kenshin



Do-ryu-sen (Ground Dragon Flash):

Used by raising the sword up, then immediately bringing it towards the earth, striking the blade with immense force against the ground, the force of the strike will cause the ground to explode at the opponent, sending a shower of rocks towards them.


Ryu-sou-sen (Double Dragon Flash):

While performing this technique, Kaoru noted that Kenshin's sakabatou seemed to fly. The Ryuu-sou-sen consists of extremely fast, repeated blows towards an opponent. It's mainly used for those who won't be taken out with simply one hit.


Ryu-sou-sen Garami:

A different version of the Ryuu sou sen, in which the blows are directed at the neck. the 'Garami' kanji at the end of the skill simply means 'to attack at the head.'


Ryu-kan-sen (Dragon Wind up Flash):

Utilized when Kenshin is beside the opponent, he then turns, delivering a backhanded swing at the opponent, usually towards their neck. The Ryu-kan-sen is a move best used as a counter-attack, rather than an initial move.


Ryu-kan-sen Kogarashi:

The easiest way to describe this technique is that it is a more powerful version of the Ryuu-kan-sen.


Ryu-kan-sen Tsumuji (Dragon windup flash hair spin):

Another enhanced version of the Ryu-kan-sen, the tsumuji begins with an extremely fast lunge towards an opponent, then using the force of the body turning to hit them in the neck. The speed from this attack can make landing difficult however.


Ryu-tsui-sen (Dragon Mallet Flash):

The 'Ryuu-tsui-sen' is the most frequently used technique in the series; it begins by leaping up, then descending towards your opponent, using your weight and force of the landing to hammer the opponent towards the ground.


Ryu-tsui-sen-zan (Dragon Mallet Flash Cut):

The more lethal version of the Ryu-tsui-sen, in which the blade is poised directly downward so that while descending, it cuts completely through an adversary.


Ryu-shou-sen (Rising Dragon Flash):

A rising attack, where Kenshin places his right hand against the bottom of his blade, holding it horizontally above his head, then rises straight up, hitting the sword towards the opponent's neck.


Ryu-tsui-shou-sen (Dragon Mallot rising flash):

A combination of the Ryu-tsui-sen and the Ryu-shou-sen, beginning with Kenshin descending downward with the Ryu- tsui-sen, then immediately rising back up with the Ryu-shou-sen for a double hit attack.


Arashi (Storm):

Another technique Kenshin invented on the spot, during a fight. He curls himself into a ball, spinning in a complete circle with his sword extended.


Hi-ryu-sen (Flying Dragon Flash):

A sprung sword technique, where the user draws the sword out of the saya (sheath) quickly with the left hand, sending the sword flying like an arrow, aiming the hilt at a vital point.


Sou-ryu-sen (Paired Dragon Flash):

Another of Kenshin's battoujutsu techniques. Since the blade of Kenshin's sword is reversed, his speed with any battoujutsu is slower than if he were using a normal katana. The Sou-ryu-sen is Kenshin's way of improvising for the slower speed of his sakabatou. The technique begins like a normal battoujutsu; drawing the sword with immense speed from the saya. When the sword strike is blocked or evaded, Kenshin uses his saya for a second attack. So the Sou-ryu-sen is a two sword Battoujutsu.

Sou-ryu-sen Ikatsuchi (Paired Dragon Thunder Flash):

A different version of the Sou-ryu-sen taught to Kenshin by Hiko before the succession techniques. Unlike the normal Sou-ryu-sen, this technique is initiated by attacking with the saya first, instead of the sword. Afterwards, the user would trap the other's sword with the saya, and finish the attack with his own sword.


Succession Techniques:


Ku-zu-ryu-sen (9 headed dragon flash):

"The types of attacks in kenjutsu--first, the Karatake (downward stroke), Kesagiri, the slantwise downward stroke to the shoulder, reverse Kesagiri, right Nagi (belly stroke), left Nagi (reverse belly stroke), right upward cut, left upward cut, and the Sakakaze, upward stroke. Finally, the stroke that pierces at the shortest range to the chest, the Tsuki. In all the schools there is no killing technique that does not aim for one of those nine points. Naturally, the stancesof defense were developed to correspond to these same nine points. But Ifyou move with the godlike speed of the Hiten Mitsurugi style and strike at all nine points at once, there is no possibility of defense."

-Hiko Seijuurou

The 'Ku-zu-ryu-sen' is the second most powerful technique of the Hiten Mitsurugi Ryuu school, which strikes all 9 vital points at one time. As Hiko stated, there is no way to defend oneself against this technique. This move was only countered against once, by Seta Soujirou, who moved faster than the speed of the Ku-zu-ryuu-sen, and landed in a slash on Kenshin's back.


Amakakeru Ryu no Hirameki (Heaven's Soaring Dragon Flash):

The Amakakeru Ryuu no Hirameki is the most powerful technique of the Hiten Mitsurugi School. Normally, when using battoujutsu, one places the right leg in front of the left leg, however, as noted by Soujirou, at the last moment before the attack, Kenshin put his left leg in front of his right leg before drawing his sword. This technique is most likely the one flawless technique of the Hiten Mitsurugi School. If by any chance the initial blow is blocked, the air is displaced by the power and impact of the first, blocked blow, shattering the air around the opponent around the opponent and drawing the opponent in. The second blow uses the pent up force from the first to accelerate the blow, thus hitting them with a more powerful hit the second time around.

[Back to Techniques]

[Back to main]